jump to navigation

A Day in the Life of a Wrestler 04/20/2018

Posted by cwnewssite in Uncategorized.
trackback

By: Matt Meloni

Wrestling is a great sport because anybody can do it. In this sport, you wrestle people that are the same weight as you but can also be a lot stronger or more skilled than you. For this sport, size is not an issue, as it may be in other sports because you can weigh from 106 pounds to 285 pounds and be great. The sport of wrestling helps a lot of young people develop important qualities such as self-esteem, sportsmanship, work ethic, and leadership skills. Wrestling is the world’s oldest sport and teaches self-control and concentration, but not violence. Wrestling can dramatically improve one’s ability to perform in other sports.

When I stepped on the mat, it was a completely different world then any other sport I had participated in before. Before most of my matches, I would get chest crushing anxiety and when it was my turn to bring a win home for the team, I always gave everything I had to win. My goal was to crush anyone in front of me, and I didn’t care if they were a lot bigger or better than me, they would come off the mat hurting. In wrestling, you get, at most, two minutes per period and you have to do whatever you can to do to score as many points in that very little time you have. When you get taken down, you have to imprint it into your mind that someone is drowning you and you have to get out no matter what. Wrestling is hands down the hardest yet most fun sport anyone could play because you could lose one day, and be very mad at yourself for losing, and then a few days later you win and shine. In the end, wrestling changes everyone for the better and everyone should try it to have the chance to experience it. There is really nothing like it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment